Your work experience in certain states may also be credited toward the substantially equivalent requirement.
The information on this page does not reflect whether other states recognize Texas licenses.
Selma Leathem has experience writing for a wide range of audiences on a plethora of topics from profesional science publications to amateur gardening and fashion advice.
These laws state the number of required training hours and apprenticeship hours that are needed to qualify for a license.
Reciprocity occurs when beauty training hours and work experience are allowed to be transferred from one state to another.
Each state has minimum requirements for the number of training hours you must have completed to qualify for a license.
Maryland will even accept 24 months as a registered apprentice in a licensed beauty salon instead of beauty school training.
Florida offers the cosmetology board exams in both the English and Spanish languages.
Florida requires 16 hours of cosmetology continuing education to renew licenses.
Reciprocity and transfer is largely based on whether your home state has equivalent or greater education and testing requirements.
Apprenticeship licenses and apprenticeship education are not eligible for endorsement.
It is a good idea to contact the state from which you are transferring to verify their cosmetology license requirements.
Please see our Chapter 455 page to determine if you are affected by this change.
Frequently Asked Questions The licensee must contact the State Board where they are moving to find out how to get a license there.
Cosmetology Frequently Asked Questions Please contact the school you want to attend in Texas and see if there is an opening.
Cosmetology Frequently Asked Questions Please check our website and download the reciprocity forms.
Office at both origin and destination to determine any certification requirements for transporting houseplants.
Most states allow the entry of privately owned houseplants that have been grown and maintained year round in an indoor setting only.
RTA may also be able to help you locate a provider in your new state and set up an appointment for when you arrive.
Check with the Cosmetology Board in that state since some states may require that you to return to school for additional hours of study.
The State Boards are very strict in all states and when you visit any of the state board sites you will usually find the mission statement like the one from the PA state board site below.
You can be fined heavily and shut down and according to any offense may spend some time in jail.
The Board promulgates and enforces regulations for the examination and licensure of applicants to practice or teach cosmetology and to manage schools of cosmetology.
The Board also issues apprentice permits in appropriate circumstances as well as licenses to perform nail technology only or practice esthetics only.
The Board prescribes disinfection standards to be followed to prevent the creation or spread of infectious diseases.
If they have any complaints it is very easy for them to report you and believe me the board will check you out throughly and make sure everything is up to code and all rules and laws are being carried out.
Below I have listed the hours required in order to get your license from each state.
If you are planning on moving to another state you will need to check with that state board to find out if they have reciprocity.
Reciprocity deals with being able to transfer credits or experience if you attend beauty or cosmetology school in one state and then wish to work in a different state.
Each state is different so always check all the requirements from the state you are interested in.
They will be able to check with the school that you wish to attend and see if your hours from Kansas will be credited.
You will have to have them send your records anyhow or you can contact the schools below by calling and see if they will accept the hours you have already accrued in Kansas or use the urls provided to send a message to the individual schools.
If you are planning on doing your boards in California instead of Idaho You will need to download this form in pdf.
You should get in touch with your state board of cosmetology or read your handbook that you got in school.
Arizona i have been a liscensed Esthetician for 7 years and have worked doing aesthitics the whole time.
More than likely you will down load their proof of work experience and have the appropriate person fill it out.
I have spent many afternoons on the phone with these people and it seems they are trying to block my every move.
The best I can do right now is to give you this site and tell you to get in touch with this person since she lives and practices in Kansas.
Please see this post for the email address to request the approved trainers list in Kansas.
I have checked with numerous states for this information and the ones that answer me back with specifics I then post it on beauty hours expiration .
You can call the school you graduated from to get this information a lot quicker and they are always happy to help their graduates in anyway they can.
I want to be certified in South Carolina and I would like to also get my certification in Alabama.
You should talk to the director of your school and explain your circumstances and see how they can help you.
I am moving to California and am curious about the particulars of transfering my license.
I would get in touch with them directly because as stated in other posts state laws and requirements change constantly.
Since you live in NY call your state board directly and see if anything has changed.
If nothing has changed then you would have to follow Florida laws if their schools will not accept your certified school hours from NY.
NY has 1000 and Fla 1200 if they had reciprocity your working hours since having your license would make up the extra hours needed.
I see that she needs an additional 100 hours of school in order to become certified in CA.
PA and currently moving to Florida how would I go about transferring my license to Florida and what are the requirements.
Since her license is not in good standing and she has not worked 3 out of 5 years then reciprocity would not be eligible.
Since laws and rules change constantly from State to state it is always best to find out straight from the horses mouth instead of relying on someone that may have outdated information.
They will be able to tell you about getting her certified hours sent to them so you would be able to proceed with the best course of action and enrolling in school if her work history does not qualify for the extra hours needed in order to take their state boards.
Pennsylvania and Florida do not have reciprocity as far as I know unless something has changed recently.
Since you do already have a license for hairstyling you could check and see if you could have that license certified and sent to them and finish your education for the remaining part of the curriculum hours in Georgia to take their state boards for the whole cosmetology course.
You would need to get a transcript of your hours and depending on which state you move to you would have to get the remaining hours needed at a school in the state where you move.
When your sister makes her final decision speak with the director of your school and they will help you to transfer your hours to the state board that you move to so you can finish your course.
You may be able to get an apprenticeship to finish your hours and make money at the same time.
Its about that time again and where ever they send us next I want to go to Cosmetology school.
Some states also require you to take the state board test in the state you went to school.
Every state constantly changes rules and regulations so you never know what could happen.
You should also check to see if there are any new updates on the official site since rules and regulations change frequently.
When applying for reciprocity with other states you can always keep your other license as long as you keep it renewed.
I have a colorado nail tech license and a colorado estetician license and am currenting attending school in COLORADO for HAIR .
I may be possibly moving to Macon Georgia and wanted to know if Georgia will accept my licenses Or Licence.
I am going to switch all licences for a cosmo license in the state of Colorado then hopefully switch it out to Georgia.
Georgia has a 1500 requirement and Colorado 1450 so you will need at least 50 more hours to meet their requirement.
I live within just a few short miles of SC in NC and have opportunity to work part time in both.
As Far as I know as long as you keep your license renewed and paid up you can be licensed in as many states as you want.
Some states specify after several failures you have to have a certain amount of retraining before you would be eligible to retake the exams.
I suggest you get in touch with the school you graduated from and ask them what the requirements are after 15 years that you will need to address.
I have requested a Certification from the State with which I hold a current license be sent directly to the California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology.
I am now in California so I am short 100 hours and short 1 month of work from Md.
The phone number and contact info is in the comment above and get a list of the accredited schools where you are.
The proficiencies include those requisite sub concepts and skills essential to achieving the objectives.
Both courses will train the students in all theory and practical phases of manicuring.
The students will be able to demonstrate the Application of Nail Extensions and Repair.
You will have to show proof of higher education so more than likely you will be required to take a refresher course before you could be reinstated.
If I were you I would contact the NJ board and find out exactly what their requirements are now so you will be prepared.
You should read the paperwork that was supplied to you from the salon or check with your state board for better advise on your rules and regulations.
You should check to see if they will give credit for your school hours and your 5 years working history.
I would take like a 40 hour refresher just encase you forgot alot of stuff and redo the mock boards so you know what to expect.
I would like to get some additional training for new style that have been out since I have been in the busuness because I plan on going back into this line of work this summer.
You need to contact your state board and ask them about courses being offered in your area.
You would have to have your certified license sent to Florida by your state board and then apply for a fla license.
Since both barbers and cosmetologist have to learn the same basics I would say you could transfer to a barber course and have your hours carried over.
I have had my licenses for almost 2 years and I am possibly moving to North Carolina.
Click the link to find the information you seek about North Carolina Reciprocity .
Revised Code for the branch of cosmetology that the person seeks to practice or type of salon the person seeks to manage.
As a rule a cosmetologist can perform any and all aspects of the cosmetic arts because you are licensed in all aspects of course many states require continuing educational hours to maintain that license.
You should check with your state board to get accurate and up to date requirments that would need to be fulfilled.
New Jersey will recognize applicants without administering an exam to those holding a license from a state whose requirements are equal to or greater than New Jerseys.
Licensure by endorsement is offered to cosmetologist applicants if they satisfy the requirements for licensure and presently hold a current license as a barber and beautician in another state or foreign country.
I have been wanted to go to cosmetology school since i graduated high school in 2006 but i have been toren on where i should get my hours.
Some do require that you have worked for at least 2 years at your chosen profession some even longer before they will reciprocate and give credit for your work hours.
Also most states if you start school and decide to move or have to move will let you transfer your hours between state accredited schools.
If I were you I would definitely get the Ohio license first and make sure you keep it in good standing.
I think if I were in your place I would finish the course and get my license and then contact California and see what your options are or talk to your school admin they will advise you best and show you your options and help you find the easiest way to make the transition.
Contact your state board directly for any questions about the laws in your state because they change frequently.
I am currently attending a cosmetology institute in NYC and interested in moving to FL.
You will first have to have your verified hours sent from your state to Colorodo and then apply to take the exams there.
You would be required to have the extra 200 hours before you could take the boards in Florida.
There is a link over there on the right side board for all the state board sites look under Links .
Oregon License you could then apply to take the California boards after having your certified hours sent to Calif.
You would have to have your school hours transfered to a school inSC and finish the remaining hours required.
Board you are licensed with and check to see what the procedure is to obtain a license certification.
In most states if you have a full Cosmetology license then you could automatically do nails.
Hi my name is Samantha and I have been a licensed cosmetologist in the state of GA for 3 years and i am moving to PA and I can not find any information on being able to transfer license.
I went to a professional make up applicaiton course in New Jersey but never became a licensed estetician.
If not then you would have to redo them and they can even fail you so you are not allowed to graduate if you do not pass in school.
Is there any study guide she might be able to find to help her with studying for the written part of the exam.
Dean your wife should contact the board for a candidate study guide of what to expect during their exams.
Hairstyling located in Newark New Jersey and i have contacted my old school and no one can seem to help me.
I need a new application form to fill out and send to Newark so i can be approved to take my test.
I was told that my school would have to give me this form but they said they do not have any forms and i must contact Newark.
Nj should have your hours documented since you had already sent in all your forms.
I am hoping to take my state boards within the next month my school does a practical exam then i have to go to the board of health for my written.
I took Cosmetology while in High School and received a South Carolina Registered Cosmetologist License.
I believe in the state of SC you have three years to show state board proof of continuing Ed.
Im from minnesota and was wondering if at all possible if im still eligible to get my cosmetology license.
As far as I know California requires you to have had a working license for 3 out of the past 5 years so I will say that you would have to take their state boards.
I went to work for a manufacturer as director of education and maintained my license to do classes and shows and trainings.
I then was asked to work as a regional sales manager for 2 years and in this time I have moved and my license had expired.
Tamra most states give a 30 day grace period so you need to get in touch with your board and talk to someone that knows what they are talking about and have them send you an application to renew and find out if you owe late fees.
A person applying for reactivation shall not be required to take an examination as a condition of reactivation if the reactivation occurs within three years after the date of the license expired.
Follow the instructions they sent you with your results or contact your state board.
Rules and regulations change all the time some states so long as you have your transcripts will let you take their boards and others require that you take boards from the state you went to school in.
I would like to pass on some information that I have as a Director of a School in Oregon.
It would be so great if more educators would answer here and give their insights from the different states believe me I get so tired trying to answer reciprocity questions that change at the drop of a hat from different states and I always tell them to ask the state in question because I simply do not have time to keep up with all the laws in every state.
I have found it very difficult being able to complete the process of switching it.
Hi Im curently living in Arkansas and I am licensed in Indiana and trying to get my license here but I can also go to work in Missouri I need to know if anyone knows what the requirements are for Missouri .
If you type in Oregon in the search box to the right it will pull up any other Information I have on this blog for Oregon.
As long as you pay your fees to NY you can keep them active without transfering them back.
I will be moving to Washington state shortly after finishing school and getting my liscense.
I would suggest when you get close to your graduation that you talk to your admin.
I have been working as a licensed cosmetologist in Rhode Island for a little less than two years now.
I just graduated from cosmetology school in arizona and will be moving to san diego.
I would have my transcripts sent to a school in Arizona and finish there and then take your boards in Arizona.
I just paid the license fees due to the fact North Carolina has more hour credits than NYS.
Your work experience in certain states may also be credited toward the substantially equivalent requirement.